NCAA Football- Big East Conference – History and Team Facts

The Big East has gone through membership changes since its creation and continues to make advances in improving the quality and depth of this conference. In 2013 the Big East will be renamed as the American Athletic Conference.

For now, the Big East football members for this 2013 include UCF, Cincinnati, Connecticut, Houston, Louisville, Memphis, Rutgers, SMU, USF and Temple. Each team will play eight conference games and four nonconference games.

The Big East football season will begin on Aug 29th 2013 and will conclude in four games as part of Championship Week as the league’s 10 schools battle for the league crown and Bowl Championship Series.

The schedule includes 40 conference games and 40 nonleague games. Fifteen of this nonleague games are against conferences or teams with automatic bids to the Bowl Championship Series.

It’s important to mention that since 2006, the Big East is place in third behind SEC (.815) and Big 12 (.741) from all Bowl Subdivision conferences with a nonleague winning percentage of (.701). The Big East teams have gone 8-7 all-time in Bowl Championship Series games, including victories in each of the past two seasons. Moreover, since 1998 the Big East has combined the best bowl record of any conference, with a 46-29 record in the postseason.

This season 2013-2014 the favorite to win the Big East Conference title for many is Louisville  as they are the defeated champions. The star quarterback Teddy Bridgewater is coming back as well as 16 other returning starters, given this way a real advantage over the rest.

Here are some information and history about each team of the conference this 2013 season:

The UCF Knights play their home games at Bright House Networks Stadium in Orlando, Florida. The Knights will be directed by head coach George O’Leary, who will be in his tenth season with UCF. The Knights were members of Conference USA from 2005 to 2012 but in July will be joining the AAC (Big East) for this 2013 season.

In their history the Knights have won the 2005, 2007, 2010 and 2012 C-USA Eastern Division Championship.  In 2007 and 2010 were the Conference USA Champions, whereas during the 2005,2007,2009,2010 and 2012 appeared in five bowl games.

The Cincinnati Bearcats football program is one of the nation’s oldest football team since it was held in 1885. The Bearcats football team is based in Cincinnati and they play their games at the Nippert Stadium. Its current coach is Tommy Tuberville.

The Bearcats have won 12 Conference Championships in their history, 4 of those are from the Big East Conference during the seasons’ 2008, 2009, 2011 and 2012.  The University of Cincinnati football has participated in 14 bowl games, and its record is 8–6.

The Connecticut Huskies began their participation in Division I-A in 2002. They played in the Big East from 2004 to 2012 and are based in East Hartford, Connecticut.  Their current coach is Paul Pasqualoni and presently they play their home games at Rentschler Field.

Throughout the Huskies  history, the Huskies have won 26 conference titles, having an all-time record of 482-504-38 (.489), whereas their postseason bowl record is of 3-2.

The Houston Cougars football team is located in Houston, Texas and they are current directed by Coach Tony Levine. The Cougars played their home games at Robertson Stadium until the season 2012 since the stadium was closed. The team is expected to use Reliant Stadium for its 2013 home games.

During the Cougars‘  history, the team has won 10 conference championships and has several players as members of the College Football Hall of Fame.

The Louisville Cardinals  football team is based in Louisville, Kentucky and plays its home games at Papa John’s Cardinal Stadium. The Cardinals are currently coached by Charlie Strong and is expecting a great 2013 season since they are the defending champions. Thru their history Louisville have won 8 Conference Championships; three of those are Big East Conference Championships.

The Memphis Tigers football team represents the University of Memphis and is based in Memphis, Tennessee.  They play home games at Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium and are currently led by Coach Justin Fuentes, who replaced former head coach Larry Porter.

The Memphis Tigers  currently hold a record of 3–3 in bowl games and have won 4 Conference titles (1 SIAA, 3 MVC).

The Rutgers Scarlet Knights football team represents Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey, which is located at Piscataway, New Jersey. The Rutgers football team is currently coached by Kyle Flood and is playing its home games at High Point Solutions Stadium.

The Scarlet Knights currently holds an all-time record of 626–606–42, giving them the 38th most victories among NCAA FBS programs. Rutgers has claimed 1 national title in 1869 and 4 conference championships, 3 from Middle Atlantic and 1 from the Big East.

The SMU football program  is a team that represents Southern Methodist University, which is placed in Dallas, Texas. The Mustangs play their home games at Gerald J. Ford Stadium and are currently directed by Coach June Jones. During their history the Mustangs have won 11 Conference titles and have claimed 3 National titles.

The University of South Florida is based in Tampa, Florida. The USF football team  plays their home games at the Raymond James Stadium and their head coach is Willie Taggart. The Bulls became a member of the Big East Conference in 2005 after been in the Conference USA for two years.

The USF football team has an all-time record of 103–62 (.624) and have appear in 6 Bowl games, were they have won 4 of those Bowl games.

The Temple Owls football team  represents the Temple University, which is located in Philadelphia. The Owls are presently coached by Matt Rhule and play their home games at the Lincoln Financial Field. The Owls were a football-only member of the Big East Conference from 1991 until 2004. They were independent until 2007 when the Owls joined the MAC.  In 2012, the Temple Owls rejoined the Big East Conference.

Through the Owls history they have won 1 conference title from the Middle Atlantic and 1 division title in 2009 on the MAC East.

At® Price per Head services you will find all this betting action and so much more. We are the leading online per head provider in the industry at the best price. Make sure to contact us today for more details on how to set up your account.


Sign Up today! You will also get a 5% rebate if you make your initial deposit through Bitcoin.

To claim this deal, just fill out the below form or call us at 1-888-978-0688.


Fill out the following form and join Pay Per Head the best solution to grow your business. We will contact you shortly.