NCAA Football – Sun Belt Conference – History and Team Facts

The Sun Belt Conference was founded in 1976, but the conference did not sponsor football until 2001. The offices are located in New Orleans, Louisiana. Most of the southern region is the one that participates in this conference.

Since their short time on football, the Sun Belt Conference has been really successful. As 2007, the Sun Belt Conference football ranks fifth out of the 11 football conferences in postseason bowl game winning percentage.

During this 2013 season the Sun Belt Conference consists of eight members: Arkansas State, Georgia State, Louisiana–Lafayette, Louisiana–Monroe, South Alabama, Texas State, Troy, and WKU. This is the first season for Georgia State as they turn out to be the conference’s eighth member for this 2013 season.

This season 2013-2014 the favorite to win the Sun Belt Conference title for many is Louisiana-Lafayette Ragin’ Cajuns, as they are the defeated champions; however things could change depending on the other team’s rosters this season.

Here are some history and facts of each of the current members of the Sun Belt Conference:

The Arkansas State Red Wolves football team represents Arkansas State University and is based Jonesboro, Arkansas. The school was founded in 1911 (102 years ago) and since 2001, Arkansas State has competed as a member of the Sun Belt Conference.  The Red Wolves plays their home games at Liberty Bank Stadium and their current coach is Bryan Harsin. Through their history, the Red Wolves have won 10 conference titles and have appeared in 3 Bowl Games with a record 1-2.

The Georgia State University is located in Atlanta, Georgia. The Georgia State Panthers have its first season in 2010. The team is coached by head coach, Trent Miles and presently plays at the Georgia Dome, which has a capacity of 28,155. During their short history, the Panthers haven’t won a title, and have a record of 10–23(.303).

The Louisiana–Lafayette Ragin’ Cajuns football program is a college football team that represents the University of Louisiana at Lafayette, which is situated in Lafayette, Louisiana. Their first season was held in 1902 and currently plays their home games at the Cajun Field. The Ragin’ Cajuns is coached by Mark Hudspeth, who is on his second season with the school. During their history, the Ragin’ Cajuns have attained 14 Conference Championships and have currently an all-time record of 476–513–31(.482). Louisiana Lafayette has also played 2 Bowl Games, in which they have a record of 2-0.

The Louisiana–Monroe Warhawks football competes in football since 1931. The campus is located in Monroe, Louisiana and currently plays its home games at the Malone Stadium. Their current leader is its third year head coach Todd Berry, who has a record with the team of 17–19 (.472). The Warhawks has attained 5 conference championships, including 1 national title.

The South Alabama Jaguars footballrepresents the University of South Alabama in the football field at the Sun Belt Conference. The university is based in Mobile, Alabama and the team plays their home games at Ladd Peebles Stadium. The Golden Eagles’ current coach is Joey Jones.
During their history, the Jaguars haven’t won any conference titles since their first season in 2009, but the Jaguars have a great record with a 23–4(.852).

The Texas State Bobcats football team began playing in 1904 and is based in San Marcos, Texas. The Bobcats plays its home games at Bobcat Stadium.  After only just one season in the WAC, the Bobcats moved to the Sun Belt Conference. Texas State will join the league in July 2013. The program began in 1904 and has an overall winning record. The program has a total of 14 conference titles, nine of them being all out of the Sun Belt Conference.  As well Texas State has attained 2 national titles. Since the 2011 season, the Bobcats have been coached by Dennis Franchione.

The Troy Trojans football program represents Troy University, which is based in Troy, Alabama. The Trojans were founded in 1909 and plays their home games at Veterans Memorial Stadium.  Its current coach is Larry Blakeney, who is having his 20th season with the team this 2013. The Trojans have won 20 conference championships, from which 5 are from the Sun Belt Conference. The team has played 5 Bowl Games and has won 3 national titles (1 NAIA, 2 Division II).

The WKU Hilltoppers football team has their first season in 1908 and the campus is based in Bowling Green, Kentucky. The Hilltoppers plays its home games at Houchens Industries–L. T. Smith Stadium, which seats 22,000 and its current coach is Bobby Petrino. WKU is a football school with some impressive history success, winning 11 conference titles (7 Division II, 4 FCS). The Hilltoppers have played 3 Super Bowl Games and have a record of 511-349-30 (.591).

With Bettorsnet you can Become a Bookie and start earning money right now! Contact us!


Sign Up today! You will also get a 5% rebate if you make your initial deposit through Bitcoin.

To claim this deal, just fill out the below form or call us at 1-888-978-0688.


Fill out the following form and join Pay Per Head the best solution to grow your business. We will contact you shortly.